Our Governing Body is made up of staff governors, parent governors, local authority governors and community governors. All governors are volunteers, and their role is to set the school’s strategic direction, ensure accountability and act as a critical friend to the school’s senior leaders.

A knowledgeable governing body provides effective challenge and support to school

OFSTED March 2023

Message from the chair of Governors

“I became Chair of Governors in April 2011, and I am ably supported by the Vice-Chair and the Chairs of the sub-committees. All the governors are passionate about supporting the School and we have followed the progress over the past year, asking questions and – hopefully – being supportive of the Head and the staff.

Hargrave Park School has changed a lot recently, very much for the better. I visit practically every week to meet the Headteacher, and have enjoyed attending assemblies, the School’s fairs, and seeing the children’s work at places as diverse as Whittington Hospital (a climate change project), the Archway’s Christmas Fair (children singing) and Kenwood (an art project).”

Janet Burgess
Chair of Governors

Our School Governors

Governor RoleName
Chair of Governors, Local Authority GovernorJanet Burgess
Vice Chair of GovernorsGareth Edwards
Chair of Resources CommitteeGurpreet Singh
Chair of Curriculum CommitteeMaggie Elliot
Co-opted GovernorRahul Bakrania
Co-opted GovernorClare Lucraft
Co-opted GovernorKrishan Shah
Co-opted GovernorCarla Jones
Parent GovernorZoe Berger
Parent GovernorKatie Smith
Staff GovernorSandra Jago

Governor Interests

Below is the 2023/2024 Register of Governor Interests

Minutes of governors’ meetings

If you wish to read the minutes of a committee meeting or of the full governing body meeting, please contact the school to receive a copy. To contact the governors, email and specify “FAO Governors” in the object of your email.


All governors sit on one of two smaller committees which meet regularly across the academic year. The committees are;

Curriculum Committee

  • Maggie Elliott
  • Janet Burgess
  • Katie Smith
  • Clare Lucroft
  • Gareth Edwards
  • Carla Jones
  • Charlie Baverstock
  • Lisa Horton

Resources Committee

  • Gurpreet Singh
  • Janet Burgess
  • Rahul Bakaria
  • Krishan Shah
  • Sandra Jago
  • Zoe Berger
  • Lisa Horton

Both committees report back to the Full Governing Body, which meets three times a year.

How to become a governor

Information on how to become a school governor can be found on by clicking on the link below.

Become a School Governor